My Weekday Routine

My weekdays a pretty consistent. I tend to have the same schedule Monday-Friday. Things do vary a bit on the weekends, but during the week I have a predictable routine. Here’s what that routine looks like.

  • 6 AM: Get up
  • 6:00 – 6:30 AM: Walk the dogs
  • 6:30 – 7:15 AM: Complete a bodyweight workout and stretching routine
  • 7:15 – 7:45 AM: Take the kids to school, coffee in hand
  • 7:45 – 9:30 AM: Spend an hour running, spinning, or swimming and take a quick shower
  • 9:30 AM – 5:30 PM: Work
  • 5:30 – 9:00 PM: Family time
  • 9:30 PM: Kids are headed to bed
  • 11 PM: Go to bed

Some of these elements shift around a bit. If I’m extra busy at work I may start work earlier or spend an hour or two working later in the evening. Kids activities may require that I stop work a little earlier than 5:30. Unfortunately, it’s not unusual for me to be up considerably later than 11 PM. However, this the outline of my typical day and this is the schedule I keep most weekdays.

2 thoughts on “My Weekday Routine”

    • The short answer to your question is: I’m not concerned in the short term, but in the long term I do plan to get more sleep as the kids get older.

      The longer answer is that sleep needs vary considerably between individuals. For the most part, the general recommendation for adults is usually 7+ hrs per night. My schedule above allows 7 hrs per night (11 PM to 6 AM) during the week and on the weekends I tend to sleep in a little more (more like midnight to somewhere between 7:30 and 9 AM). That’s the plan, in reality I often sleep about 6-6.5 hrs per night during the week and 7-7.5 hrs a night on the weekend. It’s not ideal, but it’s how I’ve operated over the last 10+ years as someone who has changed earned a graduate degree and changed careers twice while also having young children in the house and thus needing to earn a solid living while switching careers.

Leave a Comment